Four Homophonic Studies

For Two Clarinets

Written for Jarrett Hoffman

  1. Planing 
  2. Patterns, Trills
  3. Echo
  4. Composite

Throughout the Four Homophonic Studies, the two clarinets act as one instrument. The first movement presents homophony in its most strict form. As the piece progresses, the definition of homophony is stretched to encompass additional textures.

The name Studies implies the value of these pieces as exercises: presumably if two performers can match intonation, style, and articulation throughout the entire piece, they could blend in an orchestral setting.

13 minutes and 30 seconds
March, 2015